Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (FRCS) Exam: An Overview

  • StudyFRCS
  • BY btle_admin - 23rd Sep 2023

Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (FRCS) Exam: An Overview

About FRCS

Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (FRCS) is a diploma held in high regard. Furthermore, it is a testament of the sound knowledge of the scientific basis of Ophthalmology and the experience and competence at applying that knowledge to patients.

It is a validation of an ophthalmologist’s knowledge, experience and training. Moreover, candidates with this standard possess the skills of a General Ophthalmologist. Lastly, they can handle patients with ophthalmic conditions independently in a safe and professional manner.

Successful candidates will be invited to proceed to admission to the college after completion of the final part of FRCS Ophthalmology. Once that happens, you become part of a growing membership committed to ensuring high standards of practice through assessment and continuing professional development.

About FRCS Exam


There are three parts to the FRCS examination

Namely, Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Part 1 and Part 2 are written examinations. Furthermore, the Part 1 paper has 160 MCQ questions and is 2 hours in duration. The Part 2 paper has 180 MCQ questions and 2.5 hours in duration. In addition, this paper will contain medical emergency questions.

Part 3 consists of structured oral and clinical examinations.

Eligibility for the Exam

Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria before the closing date for applications.

Part 1

The candidate must possess the primary medical qualification along with a one-year internship. One year clinical experience in any field is also necessary.

Part 2

The candidate should pass the FRCS Part 1 exam or else would be exempted from this examination. Along with the primary medical qualification, an internship of one-year duration is necessary. Another requirement is an experience spanning 5 years. Out of it 54 months be in clinical ophthalmology.

Part 3

FRCS Part 1 exam needs to be cleared by the candidate. Otherwise, the candidate will be exempted from this examination. The candidate must also pass the Part 2 exam and along with it should meet the clinical requirements of the Part 2 examination.

Frequency of the Exams

The Part 1 and Part 2 examinations are normally held twice each year and the Part 3 examination is normally held seven times each year.

Location of the Exams

· The Part 1 and Part 2 will be delivered online.

· The Part 3 examination will be held both in the UK and at several international centres.

Keep in mind that the fellowship is not intended to validate sub-specialist expertise and does not provide direct to higher specialist training in the UK.

Connect with us to know more.

Social Share :

Get in Touch

Write to Us for More Details & Updates

Contact Us